CGA Golf Links - Return Home
Registered Members, please login ...                          

E-Mail:    Password:          
Register Now! - Login to CGA

   About CGA - User Registration - Find a Tournament - Setup a Tournament - Contact - Login
   Golf Clubs - Website Tutorials - Merchandise - Tournament Handbook - Partners - FAQ - Scrapbook

What Recreation Directors Are Saying About The CGA And NCGC Program:

Join Us,

Follow Us,

Look At Us,

Watch Us

Read About Us

750 Universities, 50-80 Local Qualifiers, 1 partner, 1 National Champion
Collegiate Golf Alliance
Southern Illinois University - Edwardsville
Wins Back -to-Back National Championship

Salisbury University and Central Oregon
Capture Alumni/Community and Faculty/Staff Divisions

Championship Results
Local Qualifier Results

November 7-9, 2008

Las Vegas, NV - They did it again. Returning champs Kyle Lickenbrock and Craig Heinzmann won the 2008 National Collegiate Golf Championship in Las Vegas. The Southern Illinois University Edwardsville alumni shot a 9-under, 63 to win the Alumni & Community Division and be crowned the Overall Champions at the Silverstone Golf Course in Las Vegas, setting a new NCGC record for the lowest score. (See complete results online at:

In its seventh year, the 2008 National Collegiate Golf Championship was the first
full field tournament with 74 teams, 148 golfers, representing 40 different
colleges and universities from across the United States. Golfers qualified for the
national tournament by winning or placing in the top three at a local qualifying
tournament. Over 35 schools hosted local qualifying events in which over 1,500
golfers participated.

The Championship is organized by the Collegiate Golf
Alliance (CGA) and officially endorsed by the National Intramural-Recreational
Sports Association (NIRSA). To date CGA has made contributions of $30,000 to
the NIRSA Foundation, a not-for-profit organization that provides opportunities for
students through professional development, research, scholarships and
educational resources.

The three day event started with a pairings party on Friday night at Gameworks
on the Las Vegas Strip, where participants were treated to dinner, games and
pairings selection. On Saturday, golfers competed in the National Skills
Challenge, an almostGolf short course, and a practice round. Championship
Sunday started with a little rain, but quickly cleared for the 8:30am shotgun start
to this 2-person scramble competition, that included play in three divisions:
Student, Faculty & Staff, and Alumni & Community. The tournament was capped
with a luncheon and awards ceremony in the clubhouse overlooking the scenic
course at Silverstone.

Heinzmann and Lickenbrock become the first team to win back-to-back
Championships, and now hold two different divisional championships, in both the
Student and Alumni & Community Divisions. Despite the rainy start to
Championship round on Sunday, the pair was able to post a record-breaking
score. Going into the final 5 holes, the team was in a close battle with the
student team from UNLV, Ryan Mitchell and Roy Smith. Heinzmann and
Lickenbrock made birdies on three of their last five holes to claim the overall title.
As a result of their victory, the winning duo will be invited to return – all expenses
paid – to defend their title in 2009.

Placing second behind the repeat winners in the Alumni & Community Division
were Pat Welsh and James Albert representing UCLA, with a round of 64 for the
day. At 6’ 8”, Albert’s height is as impressive as his drives.

Winners in the student division were Rutgers teammates Adam Satkowski and Doug Christian. The pair shot an 8-under, 64, edging out UNLV students Ryan Mitchell and Roy Smith who scored a 65 for the day to finish in second place. Amazingly, Satkowski and Christian actually predicted on Friday that they would shoot a 64 on Sunday. The competition came down to the final holes on Sunday where Satkowski and Christian were able to make more putts for birdie to come out on top.

The Faculty & Staff Division was won by University of Southern Mississippi teammates Kerry Geroux and Dane Reiter. Geroux becomes the first 3-time winner in the Faculty & Staff Division. The pair posted a 6-under, 66 to beat second place finishers from Cal State University San Bernardino Kenny Calvin and Mike Nakunz who posted a 67 for the day.

CGA sponsors provided generous support throughout the year, and tournament
weekend was no exception. Contributions were made by Southwest Airlines,
Red Bull, Oakley, Matrix, FRS Healthy Energy, Star Trac, and almostGolf, with
representatives from the latter four graciously attending the weekend-long event.
Other notables: this was the first year twin girls qualified, Michelle and Gabrielle
Del Mese from UCLA; Nathan Janders from Washington State University took the
first flight of his life to travel to Vegas for the event; and Brad Yutzy drove all the
way from the University of West Virginia to compete.

This year marked the largest ever for NCGC, and not only was there tough
competition, new records, and repeat winners, but also new friendships and
lasting memories. We are already looking forward to 2009.

The CGA thanks our sponsors for supporting the National Collegiate Golf Championship.


    About CGA - User Registration - Find a Tournament - Setup a Tournament - Contact - Login
    Golf Clubs - Website Tutorials - Merchandise - Tournament Handbook - Partners - FAQ - Scrapbook
Copyright 2004, Collegiate Golf Alliance. Privacy and Security